My first few days with Mu-Shu <3

MuShu1

So as many of you know by now if you follow me on Instagram or if you saw my last post, I got a puppy on Saturday.

He’s now 14 weeks old and he’s absolutely adorable.

I got Mu-Shu for Mr. S and I since we are both huge dog people and nothing warms my heart more than a cute dog video on YouTube.

Anyway, I decided to do a post on my first few days with my new fluff baby so that if you have a new puppy, you can offer advice or you can know what to expect.

I’m by no means a dog whisperer, I’m simply sharing my experience. Also, dogs have different temperaments and personalities so your puppy might act completely differently to mine.

Another thing I want to get out the way: I bought Mu-Shu from a breeder. Now before you whip out your pitch fork, I wanted to get a pup from the SPCA but my garden really can’t accommodate a big dog and my problem is that if I adopt a puppy from the SPCA he might be small when I get him but grow into a massive dog since the SPCA often get mixed breeds. I will have to find him a new home then and that’s just cruel. So I got a pure bred from a breeder so that I know what size he’ll be. I’m going to get him micro chipped and neutered when he’s older. I know NOTHING about taking care of pregnant dogs and there are enough doggies in the world that need loving homes.

The day I can afford to buy a place or even move to a place with a much bigger garden, I’m definitely getting a rescue from the pound.

The first day

We drove all the way to Benoni (Charlize Theron is from there, represent!) to go see him. We didn’t actually think he’d steal our hearts the way he did so we didn’t even take a basket with which was stupid but he was calm in the car and chilled on Mr. S’s lap. We seriously didn’t think we’d take him home right away.

The breeder gave us a bag of food, a blankie, his inoculation papers and a toy.

He’s quite a strange pup since he warms up immediately to women but he’s shy around men. He immediately started following me, my mom and Mr. S’s sister but was shy around Mr. S and my dad. He’s not afraid of men at all, he just kind of shimmies off when they try to play with him. He’s happy being in Mr. S’s company now though.

The first night

Mu-Shu kept me up ALL NIGHT. I tried immediately teaching him to sleep in his basket that I put right by the bed but he wanted nothing of it. He wanted to sleep in bed with me and he’s still quite small so I’m really afraid of crushing him and I don’t actually want him sleeping IN my bed.

I tucked him into his basket and sat right next to him until he dozed off but he woke up every hour on the hour. I felt sorry for him because he has lived with and went to sleep with his parents, two siblings, two Golden Retrievers and a spaniel each night and now he’s all alone.

The second day

Mu-Shu became much more playful but he was still feeling a little strange. He still sniffed about quite a lot but he seemed to be in better spirits.

The second night

Mu-Shu still wanted to know nothing of his basket at night. During the day he would happily chew his toys in it and nap but when the sun set the little fluffy monster wanted to sleep in my bed. I had to go to work today (duh) so I allowed him to sleep next to me, but I slept badly since I was petrified of squishing him. I also woke up at 3 am to take him to potty, but I guess that’s better than waking up every hour on the hour.

The third day

Stephan (that’s Mr. S’s real name) is a bit under the weather and working from home so Mu-Shu is with him. So far it sounds like he’s been behaving well. Let’s hope he also sleeps well tonight.

Do you have any puppy related tips you’d like to share?

XO Carina

FACEBOOK/TWITTER/INSTAGRAM

MuShu2

2 thoughts on “My first few days with Mu-Shu <3

  1. Almost a blessing Mr. S is home sick 😉 I remember coming home to my kitten after the first day away (I was at uni at the time), opening the door and having my tiny kitten leap halfway up my leg to get to me and not be alone brought on ALL the guilt. Enjoy Mu-Shu!

Leave a Reply

